Country Boy vs. The City pt.1

I was born within the city,
But raised in the country,
Manuel labor work on farms gave me the identity of a country boy,
My southern mannerism can out best anyone in the South,
As country I sound,
My knowledge met no bounds,
It was a different ball game when I moved into the city,
So many different norms,
All new community,
It wasn’t easy to fit in,
Some see a country boy,
And automatically began to go in,
Not friendly, more hostility,
They judge on the way I talk and the way I dress,
I never cared to dress to impress,
I only dress on Sunday’s cuz that’s the Lord’s day,
I was only 7 years old when I first experience racism, discrimination,
And hate,
It bothers me when other black’s talk about each other,
Because I’m not from the same “hood” as them,
Nor I’m not his brother,
The city is a weird place man….

About 4reedasoul

I'm a college student and I love to write. Poetry is my favorite form of writing and one of my hobbies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

